Second Sock Syndrome

I’m a pretty well-addicted sock knitter.

When I cast on a pair, you can bet I’m going to finish both socks.

Sometimes I complete them quickly, sometimes it takes me a couple of months.

But there was one pair that had about a year between finishing sock number 1, and starting sock number 2.

And that would be my Owlie Socks.

I came across the pattern on a sock challenge (which, if you’re like me and you like knitting socks, you should check out a challenge of some sort. Gets you out of your comfort zone regarding construction, patterns and introduces you to new designers!), and it’s cabled and there are beads and there are owls on it!

But I completed the first sock, and… nothing. For a year.

Now, when it comes to Second Sock Syndrome, I don’t judge who gets it. You complete a sock. You lose interest in completing the other sock. World isn’t going to end (plus, knitting is supposed to be fun. Knit what you WANT to knit).

But me? The sock-knitting addict? Get Second Sock Syndrome? Unheard of!

I found my interest again, and I picked it up recently. It’s going along at a fairly nice clip. Sure, there’s cabling (and before anyone suggests cabling without a cable needle, it doesn’t quite work for socks), and there are beads and charts, but it’s coming along nicely.

Here’s a shot from the weekend, where I took over the sunroom for a bit:

Sock and cat

Sock and cat

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Socks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

