Thoughts on 2012 so far: AWESOME

So far, I’ve finished 2 projects – the Snapdragon Tam by Ysolda Teague and the Spectra Scarf by Stephen West.

I’ll try and post pictures of those later today. I got some good shots of the tam the other day, but I only finished the Spectra Scarf last night, when there was no light.

And 2 finished projects means $10 into the yarn fund, which I’m going to try and not spend at all this year.

Hey, I’m not supposed to buy yarn, but supplies and books are not off the table.

Also, I finished the body of my Lopapeysa sweater. I tried to get pictures of that, too, but haven’t been too satisfied with them. Now I just have to pick up stitches for the sleeves and get cranking!

And then there’s the January sock challenge – Pink Spider Socks (Rav Link)!! THEY’RE FREAKING AWESOME. And hard to put down. And I’m thinking the large spider motif would work well on the back of some fingerless mitts or something.

In other news, I’ve been crock-potting away. Every Monday (or Tuesday, if I have Monday off), I load up the crock pot in the morning and come home to a cooked meal in the evening. It’s AWESOME and certainly takes the edge off Mondays.

I’ve only had one failure, and that was an orange chicken recipe. It was totally my fault. When a recipe says “Cook on low for 4-6 hours,” they MEAN it. I don’t know what the hell I was thinking, loading up the crock pot and then leaving for 9 hours.

I ate it, but it had an awful burnt quality. I threw out the rest. Lesson learned.

But the rest of my attempts have been much better. I’ve been getting plenty of inspiration from A Year of Slow Cooking.

And, 17 days into 2012, that’s how things have been.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on 2012 so far: AWESOME

  1. Nice! I’m having similar thoughts about this year. Also, “A Year of Slow Cooking” is so good!

Leave a Reply

