More on Resolutions

I’ve been doing quite a bit of brainstorming about the things I’d like to accomplish in 2012.

So I’ve been making lists, and the list has gotten out of control.

Apparently, I want to be a super-healthy woman who has her sh*t together, gets 8 hours of sleep EVERY night, lives on barely any money and sets enough aside to buy a car outright. And my knitting house in gets in order.

There’s nothing wrong with wanting to revamp basically your entire life (especially when, just a few short years ago you were pretty much living the ideal you’re reaching for), but there is such a thing as setting too high a goal, getting overwhelmed, and then failing spectacularly.

This is why it’s helpful to have a plan.

For example, I want to not buy any yarn in 2012 (well, if I run out of stash (unlikely) I can do so, but only once I run out!). So I have to set some rules.

#1 – Don’t go to yarn stores if there isn’t an event or gathering taking place. Totally fine if I want to hang out and do knit night.

However, I’d feel really strange coming in and socializing with knit night and spending zero dollars at the store for a whole year.

But, knitting supplies (needles, bags, books) are not out of bounds, so we should be okay there.

#2 – No fiber festivals or events unless I’m taking a class. Even then, stay away from the  sales exhibition part of the festival/event. YarnCon is the only exception, as there is much socializing going on.

#3 – Unsubscribe from yarn store newsletters. Hide the yarn stores I’ve friended on facebook. Catalogs that arrive at my house go straight into the trash.

The last point feels really drastic. This isn’t like quitting smoking where I can be like, “CANCER MERCHANT!” and feel justified shredding the coupons and flyers I get from them.

Yarn peddlers are nice people, for the most part. AND THEY GET ME. I can talk about alpaca, wool, silk and my neverending love for cats and Doctor Who AND THEY TOTALLY GET IT.

Rule #3 feels like I’m cutting off  my big toe.

But it’s not like I’m the only knitter out there. The yarn stores will not shrivel up and die if I don’t buy from them. This is just a year-long challenge to help me get through my stash.

And there’s going to be a final harrah – I got a gift certificate to one of my favorite yarn stores, and I will be heading out there later this week to purchase a bunch of yarn for the Master Knitter class. And maybe a hank of sock yarn, because everyone knows sock yarn doesn’t count.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

