Busy, Busy

Oh, the holidays.

Where running to the store for toilet paper and other staples can turn ugly just in the parking lot.

Seriously, where do some of these folks learn how to drive? And since when is it okay to drive into oncoming traffic, especially when THERE’S ONCOMING TRAFFIC?

And to add to it, my car has decided that it needs a bunch of work.

But I’ve been trying to keep up with it. I’ve got most of the Christmas shopping done, all I have to do is wrap it.

And in the interest of the environment (and a dash of laziness), I’m wrapping my gifts in the Sunday comics.

Yes, I know you can get holiday paper on the cheap after the holidays, but I don’t even feel like storing it. It always gets ratty when I do that.

So I’m not going to do it.

I’ve also been thinking about resolutions/goals for 2012. I feel that one should think carefully about what you’re going to commit to for an entire year.  You’re looking to push your boundaries, not set super-lofty goals and then not have a plan to achieve them.

I should know. I can’t tell you how many times, at 11:58 pm I state to everyone at the party, “I resolve to quit smoking!” only to be having a cigarette late in the day on January 2.

(BTW – I did quit smoking, but it was on a random day in September. That was over 5 years ago, and I haven’t touched a cigarette since.)

My knitting resolutions are as follows (at the moment. This could change by 12/31):

#1 – Don’t buy any yarn in 2012, unless it’s for the Level 1 Master Knitter Program, or you run out of yarn.

#2 – Knit all sweater quantities into sweaters. 2012 will be the year of the sweater.

#3 – Knit through stash. Like, actually try to get to zero yarn.

#4 – Complete Level 1 of the Master Knitter Program.

My next step is to come up with a plan, otherwise I’m going to end up in yarn stores and yarn events buying yarn, and then I won’t start working on resolutions 2 and 4 until November.

Luckily, other members of Chicago Knitters Unite are looking to knit through their stashes, so we’ll be able to hold each other accountable and make a significant dent in our stashes.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

