Confessions of a Sock Knitter, Part 1

As a pretty prolific sock knitter, I have knit a decent number of patterns.

I’ve got my preferred direction (toe-up), preferred heel (no-wrap heel) and preferred method (magic loop).

I’ll totally do other methods and try new things – part of the reason why I joined the Sockdown in the Sock Knitters Anonymous group on Ravelry was to kind of push my boundaries and to get me to try new things.

Truthfully, I’ve never met a sock pattern I didn’t like. I always get something good out of it.

Occasionally, I’ll come across a sock pattern I love to bits.

My Pomme de Pin socks would be one of those patterns.

I so loved making these!

One thing I look for in a sock pattern is how easy it would be to work on public transit and around friends. But I don’t want something boring, otherwise I’ll never pick it up.

These reside within that happy medium. Enough interest to where I seriously could not put them down – I had to work on them all the time. But not so complicated that I found myself tinking back all the time.

And they look amazing.

I’d recommend this to any and all sock knitters, no matter the skill level, but especially to beginning sock knitters because you end up with an amazing looking sock without having to tear your hair out.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Socks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confessions of a Sock Knitter, Part 1

  1. You may have just supplied me with a next project! I’m finding toe-up and magic loop to be my preferred methods as well.

Leave a Reply

