Seemingly Minor Details

A while back, I completed a pair of socks with yarn from a mill ends sale from Lorna’s Laces.

Oh, I loved the colorway. Loved the pattern. First toe-up sock I’ve ever done.

However, the bind off was just a smidge too tight. I could still get the socks on, but I couldn’t pull them up all the way.

“Eh,” I thought, “it’s not a problem. I just won’t pull them up all the way, then. They’ll be a little slouchy, but that’s okay.”

And I continued on with my life.

For my trip to Iceland, I grabbed a few pairs of hand-knit socks. I was going to grab the pair with the little-too-tight-bind-off, but opted for other pairs.

Then I got back home, the weather got colder, and I’ve been wearing hand-knit socks more often. And I’d pull out the little-too-tight-bind-off socks, put one on, and think, “You know what? Not today.”

And the little buggers kept getting passed over. Again and again.

This morning I decided that if I was going to spend all that time knitting a pair of socks, I was going to wear the darn things. It’s obvious the problem was the bind off, and it’s not like I’d have to undo the whole sock to fix it. Just undo the ends, unravel a few rows, and use Wooly Wormhead’s Super Stretchy Bind Off. (link to pdf)

It really is a super-stretchy bind-off. Before this, I would bind off with needles a few sizes larger, or I would use a crochet hook. But this? This is a bona fide stretchy bind off. Once I found this, there’s just no going back.

So I got to work. It took a few hours, because there was a bit of trial and error when it came to how many rows to rip back and such, but THEY FIT.

If you have something you made, and it doesn’t quite work due to some small detail, do yourself a favor and take a bit of time and fix it.

I’m glad I did.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

