Fun with Photography

So, one of the things I did in Iceland was take a photography class from Franklin Habit.

Yes, I see the irony. I live in Chicago, he lives in Chicago, but I went to Iceland to take his photography class.

But I really wanted to visit a new country, so it all worked out.

It was so totally worth it. The camera I’ve had for, oh, 4 years and took so-so pictures with suddenly worked!

Here’s one of the first pictures I took during class after messing with some of the settings:

Knitting bag contents and Franklin

This photo right here is one of the better ones I had taken in a while. When it came to photography, I’d get lucky every now and then and take a really good picture. But, for the most part, a lot of them were, well, crap.

Now? Now I know what the settings mean and how to manipulate them.

And I get better pictures more often.

Yeah, I still get really crappy ones, but I can delete those right away, fiddle with a setting, and continue on with my shoot.

Lopapeysa

I'm a sucker for close-up shots

I’m really loving the yoke on my Lopapeysa. So here’s an arty shot of it.

Then two of my shawls started calling my name, so I took them out and took some pictures of them:

Extreme close up

Holden shawl on the bottom, North Roë shawl on top

I’m not going to lie. I kind of drooled on myself a bit when I uploaded this picture.

So, the photo class was one of the first things we did in Iceland. And I’m so glad, because the next day we went out to the countryside, and I got pictures like this:

Icelandic Nature!

Icelandic Nature!

And this:

Moar nature!

Moar nature!

And this was really cool:

Geysir!

Geysir!

Do you have any idea how empowering it is to know that, with a not high-end camera, you can take non-crappy pictures? You could knock me over with a spoon!

Though, seriously, during the class, I teared up a little bit. I have a sister who is a professional photographer, and she takes some absolutely beautiful shots. I just figured I’d never get there with my dinky camera.

But while my camera does not compare with her equipment, I’m not doomed to taking crappy pictures. Plus, I’ve picked up some terminology, so now I feel like I can “talk shop” with her.

Moral of this story – don’t be afraid of your camera. Also, if you get the opportunity, take a photography class from Franklin Habit. And go to Iceland.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

