The Theme Is Sweaters

Lorna’s Laces.

If that name doesn’t make you feel warm and fuzzy or instantly send you to your happy place… you’ve probably never had the chance to work with it.

And to that, I say, “Get on that!”

You won’t regret it.

I remember my first mill ends sale. I picked up a couple of hanks of sock yarn and some Lion and Lamb. I didn’t work with it until a few months later.

I cast on and that’s when I understood what all the fuss was about.

My stash has more Lorna’s Laces than anything else.

And after yesterday, there’s even more.

I purchased 2 sweater quantities worth of yarn. 8 skeins of Honor in Chocolate, and 12 skeins of Shepherd Sport in Forest. Then I snagged a couple of skeins of Solemate in 4-ply. They had a bunch of that. From what I understand, they were experimenting to make sort of a worsted weight, but it didn’t quite turn out they way they wanted to. The colors are amazing, and I can’t wait to work with it!

Then I went to my mom’s. She’s got a bunch of buttons. Some she inherited from her mom, and some are from her husband’s mom.

Side note – I love looking through boxes of old buttons. These ladies would save buttons from shirts and things that could no longer be mended. For some reason, I think it’s really cool that those buttons had previous lives.

My mom also had a stash of vintage buttons on cards. Those came from a house she helped clean out when the owner, an elderly woman, became ill and had to be moved into a nursing home. The house was really, really full of stuff, and everything was being thrown away. Mom ended up with some fabric and these buttons.

So I grabbed some yarn that was waiting to be converted into sweaters and started looking at buttons.

Honor in Chocolate with vintage buttons

This is going to be Cria. I needed 10 buttons for the cuffs, and I may use the pretty buttons for the cuff. Or I may use the plainer ones in the middle (I have more, but they didn’t make it into this shot). I’m not sure yet.

Shepherd Sock in Fjord with vintage buttons

I bought this yarn last spring, with the intention of making Lakia, and still haven’t turned it into a sweater. I’m hoping with these buttons, I’ll get moving on that.

If you haven’t already noticed, I am aware that there are 22 buttons, but not all of them match. I’m thinking that I’ll mix them up. Or I may change my mind and just go to the store and buy 22 of the same buttons to make it look more uniform.

Have I mentioned that I bought 2 sweater’s worth of yarn while I was in Iceland? Because I did. I promise I’m working on one now.

Oh, and then I have that yarn that I got in a swap from Jocelyn. I’m going to make that into a sweater, I promise!

And then I have a ton of yarn in Tardis Blue that I got the last time I was in Scotland. That’s going to be a sweater.

And then I have 1350 yards of Lorna’s Swirl DK that’s not quite enough for a sweater, but if I do something lacy and short sleeved, it’ll be a nice light cardigan.

So, you see, I have 8 cardigans/sweaters worth of yarn. I’m kind of shocked typing that out right now. Holy crap.

I’ll think I’ll write up more on those yarn quantities in future entries. Stay tuned!

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Theme Is Sweaters

  1. Dani says:

    Yowza! That Cria is going to be gorgeous, and Honor is dreeeeaaammy. (I vote for the blue buttons, by the way; I’m a sucker for pastels and brown.) I’m curious to see what you find for “lacy and short-sleeved”—I came by some cotton in that swap, and I’m thinking a summer sweater, too.

Leave a Reply

