Luggage

I am happy to announce that my luggage has finally arrived.

This makes me unbelievably happy. I really expected that I wouldn’t ever see it again. I kept telling myself that everything in that case was replaceable, because it was, thankfully.

I do want to take a moment to share some Painfully Obvious Rules for Checked Baggage:

1. Don’t put things like your passport or wallet in your checked luggage. Ever. I didn’t do this, which is good.

2. Don’t put money or valuable things in your checked luggage. Because if someone has to go through it, they may take it. I also did not make this mistake.

3. Do not put your medication in your checked baggage! I was almost guilty of this. I had my toiletries and my medication in my checked bag from Reykjavik to Toronto. I bought a bottle of Icelandic vodka but the only way I could get it home was to put it in my checked bag.

Since my bag was horribly overstuffed, I swapped out my toiletries bag and shoved the vodka in there.

Anyway, I got my back back, and I was surprised as all get-out to notice that A) everything was in there and B) the things that were glass were not broken.

The only thing missing was the TSA-approved lock (good thing I’m not emotionally invested in that). The TSA also left a nice little note in my luggage to let me know that they had gone through my stuff to make sure everything was peachy keen.

I really wonder what they thought of my stuff.

It’s a good thing I had all of my clothing packed in those neato travel vacuum bags. I got them from the Rick Steves website. They were a gift (check them out here). They’re really good bags. Sturdy, easy to use, and it keeps your clothes corralled together.

If you have the tendency to buy lots of yarn while traveling, and you don’t have something like this, you’re nuts.

YARN!

Keeps everything together!

But back to the TSA – I’m thinking this made their job a lot easier. There are 34 36 37 balls of yarn in there. 34 Little Lopi, 1 ball of  Lorna’s Laces, a ball of Loðband Einband, and a ball of dk weight light-colored yarn to use for our edgings class.

Can you imagine opening a suitcase and having all of that explode out at you?

So, again, I’m glad to have my luggage. I don’t feel like I’m quite “home” until after I’ve done a monstrous pile of travel laundry.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Luggage

  1. When I was in the Caribbean, I bought some weird chocolates for my then-girlfriend. Once I got home, I found that two of the chocolates had been eaten by whomever had checked my bag. Grrr.

Leave a Reply

