YARCON POST!

Sorry I didn’t post yesterday. My day started really early, and I didn’t get enough sleep.

So I’ll be posting knitting from Friday, September 23, as well as knitting from yesterday, and then I’ll show you what I got from YarnCon.

Friday’s knitting:

Icelandic shawl

Icelandic shawl

Not a whole lot, because I worked, then went to a wedding. But I got a couple of rows in.

Saturday’s knitting:

Pamina sock

Pamina sock

Spectra

Spectra

Brought both my sock and my Spectra scarf to Yarncon. Both were a bit tricky – it’s harder to have conversation when you’re working on a super-cabled mad thing, but I did get a ton of compliments on it.

The Spectra was also difficult, because there were two balls of yarn involved, and I had to keep switching and things. Hard to do when you’re in a folding chair.

But I did get a few wedges in.

And then here’s my haul:

YarnCon Purchases

YarnCon Purchases

I actually had a great deal of restraint (especially compared to last year, when I spent about $200 on yarn). The blue skein is Fleur de Fiber’s Arden in Two Wheeler. It contains cashmere, and it will become gloves.

The purple and gold skein is from Happy Fuzzy Yarn in the “July Garden” colorway. I don’t know what it’s going to be, it’s just gorgeous.

On either side are mini sweater kits from Sophie’s Toes. Too effing cute. Those will knit up quick, and I may sweaterbomb people.

While at YarnCon, I also met Carolyn Bolger – the creator of the Callette Shawl. I didn’t realize it was her, at first.

I saw the shawl on Knitty earlier this week, fell in love with it, and vowed to make it. I was truly blown away – it looks AWESOME. I did initially lament at the lack of charts (I’m a chart-follower), but then I took a minute to read the pattern, and discovered that charts wouldn’t work for the design.

I really, really hope it doesn’t turn people off – the pattern’s AMAZING.

So, anyway, I was at the Chicago Knitters Unite booth, when I saw the shawl IN PERSON, and promptly had a fangirl moment.

Took me a minute to realize that the shawl wasn’t one someone had seen on Knitty and then made it, but THE ACTUAL SHAWL ITSELF, AND HOLY SHIT, THE DESIGNER IS ATTACHED TO IT!

I told her how much I loved it, and she gave me a hug.

I’m so glad I had that fangirl moment, and did not repel her. I once had a moment like that when I met Trent Reznor (yes, that Trent Reznor), and I just started talking and talking and he kind of gave me a weird look, and I felt like an ass.

It was nice to be properly excited and not feel like an ass.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

