September 3 Knitting

In a perfect world, I’d get these entries posted at the end of the day in question. But I’m usually knitting until I’m ready to fall asleep, so first thing in the morning will have to do.

So, for yesterday, I didn’t knit on my Pamina sock or my Twilight mitt. I did wind a couple of balls of yarn for my intarsia class with Chicago Knitters Unite.

We were supposed to bring 2 balls of yarn to be knit up into Spectra by Stephen West (rav link). I couldn’t make up my mind, so I brought 3 – some Luxe Merino Fine in Sprout, Malabrigo Sock in Violeta Africana, and Noro Kureyon sock in a purple/green/lavender/brown colorway.

And let me tell you – Noro is a bitch to wind into a perfect little yarn cake. It’s SUPER sticky, and it kept knotting on itself. I think I invented new swear words. But it got wound (eventually), and it was going to become part of this project whether it liked it or not!

So I brought the 3 balls and asked for opinions as to which I should use with the Noro. The OVERWHELMING opinion was to use the Luxe Merino in Sprout, so that’s what I did.

The color combination is outstanding:

Spectra

Spectra by Stephen West

For this class, we hired an outside teacher, Kelly K of the former Chix with Stix. She was amazing – she was super-helpful and extremely patient.

And the class, graciously hosted at Susan’s house, was awesome.

This scarf is seriously addictive. And since the sock and mitt I’m working in is so involved, I like having something that’s quick and easy!

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 3 Knitting

Leave a Reply

