Lorna’s Laces

The outfit that I spend time with, Chicago Knitters Unite!, recently organized a tour with Lorna’s Laces here in Chicago.

Beth Casey’s great. She tells the story of how she got from working in publishing to owning a yarn dying business. She talks about all the pretty string they make, passes around samples, talks about major turning points for the business, gives a yarn dying demo and answers any and all questions anyone has.

She also sells her mill ends.

Mill ends are the bits of yarn that aren’t *quite* up to standards. No, you will not be getting a skein of yarn with a thousand knots, or only have one color available to you.

Mill ends may have a few knots in them (if they notice 2 knots in the skein while dying it, they put it in the mill ends pile). The color may not be up to their exacting standards. There might be a spot of red on it someplace. They may have experimented with a colorway that didn’t quite work out.

I’ve purchased mill ends and always been delighted with them.

Here’s what I bought on Saturday:

What 6050 yards of sock yarn looks like

It’s all sock weight. All of it. And I scored 2 bags of Shepherd Sock in Fjord – there are 16 50-gram hanks of yarn in there. The yardage works out to something like 3440.

I’m going to make Lakia. I’m not sure when I’m going to cast on, but I think it will be fairly soon. That looks like a good summer cardigan.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lorna’s Laces

  1. Man, I am still reeling from how much good yarn I got. Not as much as you did, granted, but still the most I’ve ever bought in a single purchase. I am itching to cast on so bad!

    Love that pattern choice, by the way! Definitely a nice summer knit.

Leave a Reply

