Post-Apocalyptic Knitting

You know, I think about apocalyptic situations fairly often.

Or, at least, more often than most folks.

I think.

Anyway, I sometimes I look at my stash and patterns, and I think to myself, “You know, if I had to be locked in a bomb shelter for an indeterminate amount of time, how long would what I have sustain me?

I’m on a sort-of yarn diet. Actually, it’s not a diet (those never worked for me), it’s more of a talk-yourself-out-of-it yarn habit.

Whenever I’m tempted, I think of my large stash and all the projects I have lined up, and it’s okay if I don’t buy this yarn, because A) it will still be there later or B) if it’s not there later, I’m 90% sure that something else will catch my attention.

I tell myself that once I knit down some, I can buy more yarn. I’ve got 7 or 8 shawl kits (that’s a hank of sock yarn in a gallon-sized resalable bag with a random pattern thrown in there), 5 or 6 hanks of sock yarn that I don’t have a plan for yet, 3 cardigan’s worth of yarn, and countless scraps.

And it feels like I’m never going to knit it all down.

Sure, I have bursts where I make a concerted effort to knit down my stash, but then someone gets knocked up, or I decide that someone needs a knit octopus, or some silk/merino blend yarn in a unique/rare colorway crosses my path and I am powerless.

And the stash grows.

But it’s one of those things – as long as I have other things to do, like work and take care of my cats and be social, then this will take FOREVER to get through.

But if I’m locked in a bomb shelter while the Zombie Apocalypse rages on, then I may find myself done with everything in 6 months, and nothing left to knit.

I find that a to be a horrifying thought.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post-Apocalyptic Knitting

  1. The terms “zombie apocalypse” and “knitting” conjure up images of hand-knit shotgun cozies, which I find pretty awesome. Running out of stash, not so much.

    Can zombie sheep still produce fiber?

    • Baldeesh says:

      I never thought about shotgun cozies! Those would be cute!

      As for the zombie sheep – it would depend on the type of zombies. I believe the Romero zombies aren’t into animals, whereas other types are into animals.

      Let’s hope, for our sake, we get the Romero zombies that don’t care much for sheep. We’ll figure out how to spin later.

Leave a Reply

