Lost Hats

Day 4 of Knitting and Crochet blog week!

Today’s topic:

“What ever happened to ________? Write about the fate of a past knitting project.”

Oh, I could go into the fates of a couple of knitting projects. I’ll limit it to the most entertaining one tonight.

I knit a hat. It was a super-warm hat. One of the first patterns I came up with on my own. LOVED the hat.

My first Warm Hat

Took it with me on my adventure to the UK in January of 2009. I had never really experienced winter outside of Chicago, and for some reason, I thought I’d need this incredibly warm hat for my adventures in London.

I didn’t. I could wear it for maybe 3 minutes before I started sweating. So I’d take it off. Then I’d get cold because I was sweaty. So I put it back on. Lather, rinse, repeat.

Since I was constantly taking it off, I lost track of it once or twice. But I found it a minute later, so it was okay.

Then, while waiting in the St. Pancras train station for a train to Edinburgh, I lost the hat for good.

This was the first time I ever lost something I had knit. I wasn’t as crushed as I thought I would be, but I was kind of crushed nonetheless

And now I needed a new hat. It was much too cold to go around without a hat.

Luckily, I had planned my trip around yarn shops, and k1 Yarns was right around the corner from my hostel!

Quick fun fact – that’s where I met Ysolda Teague. I didn’t know who she was – she knew lots about knitting and she was extremely nice. I’m now a huge, huge, huge fan of her work.

So I got in, bought some yarn and some dpns, and knit myself another hat.

It was slightly too small, but it was better than nothing!

Unfortunately, since it was slightly too small, it dig into my forehead a bit, and it was itchy, so I was putting it on and taking it off again, just like the last hat.

Then, as I was walking around King Arthur’s Seat, I lost the second hat.

Yep. A hat that had been finished for less than 24 hours got itself lost.

I lost 2 hand knit hats in a week.

Frustrated and pissed off, I went into one of the touristy shops and bought a hat. I was DONE knitting hats for myself in Scotland.

I still have the hat that I bought. It’s a chullo hat, which I wasn’t expecting to find in the touristy shops in Scotland.

I wonder what happened to the hats that I left there. I hope someone’s enjoying them.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

