Day 2 Of Knitting and Crochet Blog Week

Today’s topic is “Skill +1UP.”

“Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year.”

I like this one. I think that far too often, knitters are modest about their skill.

I don’t care if you’ve just mastered purling or double knitting – it’s a new skill that you didn’t have before! It’s awesome! You’ve opened up a huge door for yourself! Pat yourself on the back and announce it!

I know what it’s like to finally get the hang of something, what it’s like to finally “get” something. And you really want to tell your significant other or your sister or your cat, but they just don’t get it.

Us knitters, we get it. It’s a thrill.

For me, I’ve become much better at knitting and reading lace.

I’ve mastered toe-up socks.

I’ve mastered no-wrap short row heels.

And holy crap, have I become prolific. I am nearly constantly knitting, and churning out projects like it’s no one’s business. And, yeah, that’s not a skill, but it’s definitely something.

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

