Day 1 Knitting and Crochet Blog Week!

Whaddya know? It’s Knitting and Crochet Blog Week!

So – today’s topic, from Eskimimi Knits:

“Choose two yarns that you have either used, are in your stash or which you yearn after and capture what it is you love or loathe about them.”

One tip the blog is to choose a yarn you love and one you don’t love.

For my first selection – a yarn that I love.

There were many to chose from, as I kind of have a crush on the wool/silk blend yarns. But my favorite would have to be Grinning Gargoyle’s Seda Sock.

I picked up 4 hanks at last year’s Yarn Con. I decided, right off the bat, that there was NO WAY these were going to be socks. Too pretty. Must be used someplace where they get high visibility.

I used a gold-colored hank and paired it with the Holden Shawlette pattern (Ravelry Link), completely unsure of how it was going to turn out.

It turned out magnificently. It was a dream to knit with and it worked extremely well with the pattern. I get so many compliments on it when I wear it!

Now if we can turn our attention to the other end of the spectrum – a yarn that I don’t love.

I’ve got a few that I outright HATE. And it’s not their fault. And I understand that I am a fiber snob at this point, and picking on acrylic yarns seems kind of petty.

Besides, acrylic does have its good points – for example, an afghan crocheted out of Red Heart can be washed a million times and be just as vibrant as the day it was given! I’m pretty sure it could also survive a nuclear blast, too!

But as for yarns that I’m not-so-nuts-about, I’m going to have to go with Noro Silk Garden Lite.

While I love the long colorways, I’m not crazy with how it feels against my skin. It’s rough and scratchy and that really limits what I can make out of it.

I’m not slamming yarns that I find scratchy, there are plenty out there, but this one has a cult following, and that’s kind of how I ended up with a ball of this in the first place. I heard good things, and I had to try it out.

So, it didn’t work for me. If you love it, keep on loving it!

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

