Making Things For Others

When it comes to knitting things for other people, I tend to not do it. I’d hate to take the time to make something that someone isn’t going to be into. And I don’t want them to feel any guilt for not being in love with it and wearing it all the time.

So, when I get requests from family members to make something, I’m on it.

I had a sister request an 8-foot long scarf. She wanted it plain, with blocks of orange and blue.

While I love how specific she was, I took one look at it and went, “BOOOOORING.”

Look, I like to make stuff for people, but my skill level is above making a plain block scarf.

However, this project had some challenges.

#1 – she lives in San Diego.

#2 – she spends the rest of her time in Phoenix.

So the scarf can’t be made of wool, and it can’t be thick fabric.

She was really specific about the colors.

In the end, I found some nice worsted weight organic cotton (that felt soft and fluffy – you wouldn’t have known it was cotton if I didn’t tell you) by Blue Sky Alpacas.

The next challenge – how do I knit this thing? Stockingnette was out of the question – that shit curls. Plus I wasn’t nuts about purling half the time.

Garter stitch also out of the question. I made a baby blanket using garter stitch and it was boring to work on. It looks real nice, but it’s BORING.

After a bit of flipping through one of my stitch dictionaries, I settled on a deep chevron pattern. Yeah, it’s knitting and purling, but it lays flat, it’s interesting to me, and the effect is pretty nice.

I did a fair amount of knitting while on my knitting retreat last weekend. Here is where it stands currently:

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

