Weeding Out The HandKnits

With the combination of spring and an upcoming mood, it’s time to declutter.

And I’ve made enough things that I’ve finally gotten to that point where weeding out the hand knits has been added to the job.

I remember when I started this hobby. The thought of parting with anything I had made was unfathomable.

I spent so much time on it! And the yarn, in some cases, wasn’t cheap, either. Hell, I have things that I never wore, but refused to part with because of all the hassle it was to make it.

Over the years, my skill has improved, and I’ve come to realize that I’m more of a process knitter. And I’m pretty prolific.

So, here I am, going through my hand-knits, and saying farewell to a handful of projects.

There was that scarf that I made years ago using a pattern I found from a website. I haven’t worn it in 2 years (though it did travel with me to England and Scotland when I went in 2009!).

There were 2 Argosy scarves – I remember making the first one out of Noro Silk Garden Lite, because the word on the internets was that it was the best thing since sliced cheese. The other one I made out of Southwest Trading Company Karaoke. I never really wore either, because I have the skin of a pansy and found both to be itchy. Plus, the pattern didn’t want to lay flat. Too many points.

Nobody’s fault. We all have individual tastes, and I learned a few things. For one, I ADORE long color-ways. I also picked up and improved on technique.

But I think I’ve had these scarves for, like, 4 years.

Yeah, that sounds about right, because the only time I wore one of them was the very first Yarn Con I had ever been to, and that was way back in 2007.

I got compliments on it, but haven’t worn it since.

So I’m saying farewell to those, as well as good-bye to some hats and shawls that I found itchy, and a couple of pairs of socks because they don’t fit.

Hopefully they find a good home where they will be useful!

About Baldeesh

I'm a crafty and creative person. I live in Chicago with my 2 cats. I survived the Blizzard of 2011. I make my own soap. I also make my own yogurt. I love travel - especially to England and Scotland.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

